Photograph of a chemistry instructor in the chemistry lab. Links to Chemistry faculty bios at

Engineering Transfer and Technology Program Advisory Committee (ETT-PAC)

The VIU’s Engineering Transfer and Technology Program Advisory Committee (ETT-PAC) has been established to make recommendations to the Dean of Science and Technology to ensure the relevance of its engineering transfer and technology programs to its students, employers, and the community-at-large. 

Committee Function and Role 

The ETT-PAC provides recommendations and advice in the following areas:

  • Curriculum – recommend content development, inclusion or revision to maintain or improve program relevancy and currency; facilitate transfer arrangements to other institutions.

  • Public Relations – liaise and promote positive and productive relationships between the program and local community and businesses, industry, and professional associations.

  • Work-Integrated and Experiential Learning Opportunities – Recommend and support experiential education opportunities including field placements, work placements, co-operative education, and field trips.

  • Student Experience – Assist in identifying guest speakers, participate in student and program related institutional and/or community events; identify potential student bursaries and scholarships for the program; identify and support acquisition of resources to enhance the student experience within the program.

  • Quality Assurance – Participate in quality assurance processes; provide recommendations to ensure programs continue to align with other academic programs and industry demands; advise, recommend, and assist in identifying the need for program development and/or renewal 


The current membership of this committee consists of:

  • Eve Stringham -  Dean, Science and Technology (ex-officio, non-voting)
  • Brian Dick - ETC/ETD Program Coordinator (ex-officio, non-voting)
  • Mehdi Mirzaee - IETD Program Coordinator (ex-officio, non-voting)
  • Stephen Elwood, Teacher within School District #68
  • Ma Carmini Pascual - Chair, Engineers and Geoscientists of BC (EGBC) - Vancouver Island branch
  • Alexandra Blair - North Island College
  • LillAnne Jackson - University of Victoria
  • Scott Jensen, Alumni
  • Geoff Dean, Alumni
  • Odin Marx, First-Year Student representative
  • Barbara Thomas (Chair), City of Nanaimo
  • David Moss, RB Engineering
  • Jamie Rose, City of Nanaimo
  • Poul Rosen, City of Nanaimo
  • Lee Rowley, Herold Engineering
  • Aaron Mullaley, Rocky Point Engineering
  • Berk Borrett, Catalyst Paper
  • Tim Chapman, Koers & Associates
  • Doug Pauze, Coastland Wood